Changing of the guards at Georges Riverkeeper

Councillor Adrian Wong, Georges Riverkeeper Chairperson
Councillor Adrian Wong, Georges Riverkeeper Chairperson (foreground), outgoing Vice-Chairperson Councillor Scaysbrook (left) and outgoing Chairperson Councillor Shelton (right)

Georges Riverkeeper's Annual General Meeting, held on 26 November 2020, marked a changing of the guards, in that we had a number of new people elected to positions on our Executive Group.

We congratulate Councillor Adrian Wong of Fairfield City Council who was elected Chairperson (he has held the position of Treasurer for the past two years so we welcome his continued collaboration and advice), Councillor Michael Banasik of Wollondilly Shire Council who was elected Vice-Chairperson, and Campbelltown City Councillor Rey Manoto who was elected Treasurer. We look forward to working with you more closely.

We’d also like to give heartfelt thanks to our outgoing Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, for all their hard work. Liverpool City Councillor Geoff Shelton has provided valuable leadership to our organisation via our Executive Group for the past five years (most recently, over the past two years, in the role of Chairperson). And, Sutherland Shire Councillor Peter Scaysbrook, whose innings with the Executive Group began in 2012 (and most recently concluded with his role as Vice-Chairperson over the past two years) has been a positive advocate for us and the river. We are very grateful to you both for your input.  In the words of one of our community representatives: “They have been very diligent, and consistently committed to the health and liveability of our precious river. They all are so personable, which is such an added bonus; approachable and respectful.” We're glad it's not farewell to these two as they remain on the Georges Riverkeeper's Committee.

The Committee is comprised of eight member Councils, namely: Bayside Council, Campbelltown City Council, City of Canterbury Bankstown, Fairfield City Council, Georges River Council, Liverpool City Council, Sutherland Shire Council and Wollondilly Shire Council, together with other environmental groups, partners, stakeholders, NGOs and government agencies.

Other stories