Proposed new building reforms for NSW signal need for developers and builders to ‘get the site right’

Get the Site Right Inspection

With the NSW Government set to overhaul the construction industry with new building reforms in the coming year, developers and builders are urged to install and maintain best-practice erosion and sediment controls on their sites.

The proposed reforms are expected to improve legislation, ensure higher standards of design, construction, and maintenance, and increase protection and support for consumers and workers.

The call for greater compliance on building and construction sites comes in the lead-up to the Get the Site Right inspection ‘Blitz Week’ being held from 16-20 October, involving councils across Sydney and parts of NSW.

The inspection blitz aims to build on the six per cent improvement in compliance achieved in the month-long campaign held in May 2023. Regulatory staff from 22 councils conducted 1,177 inspections of 825 building and construction sites with $376,789 in fines issued.

Georges Riverkeeper Program Manager, Scott Reyes said:

“It’s satisfying to see the progress in overall site compliance in May 2023, compared to the previous campaign, but the results emphasise the vital role of ongoing education, repetition, and frequent inspections in ensuring compliance. We need to see transformative thinking and action within the building and construction industry to improve water quality across all Greater Sydney waterways.”

Get the Site Right is a joint taskforce between the Cooks River Alliance, Georges Riverkeeper, Department of Planning and Environment (DPE), NSW Environment Protection Authority (EPA), Parramatta River Catchment Group, Sydney Coastal Councils Group, WaterNSW, and local councils.

The campaign continues to expand across NSW with the addition of Shoalhaven City Council and return of Lake Macquarie City Council.

Members of the public are encouraged to report pollution incidents, including poor sediment control, to their local council or the EPA’s 24/7 Environment Line on 131 555.

Participating councils: Bayside Council, Blacktown City Council, Blue Mountains City Council, Campbelltown City Council, City of Canterbury Bankstown, City of Parramatta, City of Ryde, Georges River Council, Lake Macquarie City Council, Northern Beaches Council, North Sydney Council, Randwick City Council, Shoalhaven City Council, Strathfield Council, Sutherland Shire Council, Waverley Council, Willoughby City Council, Wollondilly Shire Council, Woollahra Municipal Council.

Other stories