Georges Riverkeeper is the business name of the Georges River Combined Council’s Committee Incorporated (GRCCC)

Formed in 1979 by councils with a collective responsibility for the health of the Georges River to work together to improve its environmental condition and ongoing management.

The eight member councils – Bayside Council, Campbelltown City Council, City of Canterbury Bankstown, Fairfield City Council, Georges River Council, Liverpool City Council, Sutherland Shire Council and Wollondilly Shire Councils – of the Georges River catchment make up the Georges Riverkeeper.

A General Meeting is held four or five times per year and is attended by Georges Riverkeeper staff, Host Manager, member councils' nominated representative Councillors, council staff and community representatives.

Georges River Combined Council’s Committee Incorporated is an independent and non-for-profit organisation governed by the Georges Riverkeeper Executive Group, who is elected annually.

Georges Riverkeeper’s Executive Group meet monthly to make operational and management decisions. The Georges Riverkeeper Executive Groups consists of:

  • Georges Riverkeeper Chairperson: Councillor Michael Banasik
  • Georges Riverkeeper Vice-Chairperson: Councillor Matt Stellino
  • Georges Riverkeeper Treasurer: Councillor Rey Manoto
  • Georges Riverkeeper Program Manager: Scott Reyes
  • Georges Riverkeeper Host Management: Ian Drinnan

Upcoming General Meetings

  • Thursday, 17 November AGM for 2021/22
    Hosted by Campbelltown City Council

Past meetings

View all
General Meeting
Executive Meeting
General Meeting

2020/21 member councils’ nominated Councillor Representatives:

Councillor Michael Banasik
Cr. Michael Banasik

Executive Vice Chairperson

Wollondilly Shire Council

Cr. Matt Stellino
Cr. Matt Stellino

Executive Vice Chairperson
Campbelltown City Council

Councillor Rey Manoto
Cr. Rey Manoto

Executive Treasurer

Campbelltown City Council

Cr. George Barcha

Fairfield City Council

Cr. Peter Harle

Liverpool City Council

Cr. Masud Khalil

Campbelltown City Council

Cr. Kevin Lam

Fairfield City Council

Cr. Dai Le

Fairfield City Council

Cr. Fiona MacNaught

Liverpool City Council

Cr. Peter Mahoney

Georges River Council

Cr. Stephen Nikolovski

Sutherland Shire Council

Cr. Paul Sedrak

Bayside Council

Cr Haris Strangas

Sutherland Shire Council

Cr. Andrew Tsounis

Bayside Council

Cr. David Walsh 

City of Canterbury Bankstown

Georges Riverkeeper stakeholders, who may be represented on the Committee, include but are not limited to:

  • Corrective Services NSW
  • Environmental Education Centre (Georges River and Botany Bay)
  • Greater Sydney Local Land Services
  • Lands and Water – Crown Lands
  • Local Aboriginal Land Councils
  • National Parks and Wildlife Service
  • NSW Department of Land and Property Information
  • NSW Department of Planning and Environment
  • NSW Department of Primary Industry
  • NSW Office of Environment and Heritage
  • NSW Roads and Maritime Service
  • NSW State Emergency Service
  • Sydney Water Corporation
  • Various environmentally focused community groups and other regional organisations

Five focus areas for Georges Riverkeeper were identified through a stakeholder engagement process undertaken in the development of the Strategic Plan 2019-2022 and are represented by the five programs, which are:

  • Catchment Actions Program
  • River Health Monitoring Program
  • Stormwater Program
  • Research Program
  • Education & Capacity Building Program

Although these are distinct Programs they are integrated and work together to protect the health of the Georges River.

Georges Riverkeeper staff comprises of professionals with diverse career backgrounds. The team includes a Program Manager, Aquatic Ecologist & Programs Coordinator, Programs Coordinator, Administration Officer and Communications Officer.

Georges Riverkeeper would like acknowledge and thank Sutherland Shire Council for hosting Georges Riverkeeper.

Georges Riverkeeper Honours Board

Georges Riverkeeper's acknowledgement of outstanding support and contributions.